top of page
Search

2022 Favourites


Last year was a bit all over the place on this blog and I do recognize the constant battle I have with finding time to post and upload blogs. I have watched far more films than the 52-week challenge yet keeping up with a post each week has proven to be difficult. That being said, I'll be continuing the challenge this year by posting when I find the time, and your patience is appreciated. I always wanted this to be a fun place for me to reflect my ideas and opinions, and hence keeping it informal and flexible is something that will come with that, so my blog doesn't become a chore for me to complete and I am able to maintain my passion for writing when I feel like it. Thank you for the engagement last year I am aiming to upload some more soon so please keep an eye out!


I have never included anyone else opinions on this blog before and thought as a 2022 review I would include some thoughts and opinions from friends to reflect on this year in cinema.


Below are some little reviews I collected from those I know, sharing their highlights and why they mean so much to them. If you have any favourites from the year that you are wanting to share, feel free to comment below - you don't need to log in and it would be nice to see some other opinions listed below. I have also included my Letterboxd list of films I watched last year. Some were released in 2022, and others have been out for a while; please take a look for any recommendations.



Tom


Source: Disney


Favourite film of 2022:


Turning Red


Brief summary of the plot:


A Canadian Chinese girl gets her period for the first time and turns into a Red Panda.


Why is this your chosen film?


Surprisingly insightful and funny with an uplifting message to young girls about loving their families, trust and friendship.


When did you watch this film for the first time? Were you at home or at the cinema?


At home in April.


What is your favourite scene/moment from the film? Why?


The beginning of the film because it has a strong anime style, was very funny and visually pleasing.


Do you have a favourite song from the film or favourite piece from the soundtrack?


Nope.


Why is this your favourite?


This was my favourite (film) because it was funny and playful. There have been a lot of 'try-hard' films and other films which swung big and missed big recently; this film did not try to be anything it's not.


Which character do you feel the most connected to within the film and why?


The grannies because they are so cool.


Do you feel this film has changed the way you think about the world in any way?


Not really. There were no profound moments but I enjoyed it nonetheless.



-


Kacie


Source: Universal Pictures


Favourite film of 2022:


Trouble in Paradise


Brief summary of the plot:


A divorced couple go to an island where their daughter has decided to settle and marry a local. They don't like this so they plan to break them up but things take a surprising turn.


Why is this your chosen film?


It was the first rom-com I watched in a while and it was really funny and engaging. It had unpredictable twists which I liked.


When did you watch this film for the first time? Were you at home or at the cinema?


I watched it at the cinema.


What is your favourite scene/moment from the film? Why?


My favourite scene was a particular moment when the mum and dad (divorced couple) jumped off the boat together. I love the way you could feel the build-up to that moment and so it was very satisfying when it happened.


Do you have a favourite song from the film or a favourite piece of soundtrack?


I liked the instrumentals.


Why is this your favourite?


They had a nice, relaxed, tropical island feel to them overall. It kept me engaged and I think it was a nice subtle touch to the scenes without taking away the focus of what is happening in the movie.


What character do you feel most connected to within the film and why?


I felt the most connected with the dad (George Clooney) who wanted to go home the entire time and hated every minute but the moment they were planning to leave, wanted to stay as he was having fun.


Do you feel this film has changed the way you think about the world in any way?


Yes. I'm not putting pressure on myself to settle down, yet also not worrying about if I've chosen the right partner because other people have a negative opinion.


Anything else to add?


Thank you for taking me to see this movie :)



-


Jack


Source: Searchlight Pictures


Favourite film of 2022:


The Banshees of Inisherin


Brief summary of the plot:


Two men, old friends, living on a small coastal island off Ireland, one trying to rekindle their friendship while the other only wants to distance himself even more.


Why is this your chosen film?


No other film this year has been able to portray such a complex array of emotions, though not much happens throughout the film.


When did you watch this film for the first time? Were you at home or the cinema?


At the cinema.


What is your favourite scene/moment from the film? Why?


The penultimate scene when Colin Farrell's character narrates a letter he's written to his sister who left the island in search of a better life. The most endearing performance of the year.


Do you have a favourite song from the film or a favourite piece from the soundtrack?


"My Life is on Inisherin" by Carter Burwell.


Why is this your favourite?


It reuses a lot of the same audible motifs throughout the film's score but this piece comes at a very crucial part in the story for our characters. It's quite a haunting track which, I think, uses a harp (and many other instruments) to achieve this sound. The whole soundtrack feels like it was recorded in that pub, on that island.


Which character do you feel the most connected to within the film and why?


Pádraic, Colin Farrell's character because like him I find comfort in routine, have little need for many friends and the family I have that I was closest to moved away to another country. Also, my friends are in a band, I can't play, neither can Pádraic so I really think we're quite similar. And we have very expressive eyebrows too!!!


Do you feel this film has changed the way you think about the world in any way?


It's made me change my opinion on "village" mentalities. Closed-in societies where everyone talks and thinks the same. I used to hate this, but after watching this I feel much more sympathetic towards that kind of mentality.



-


Ella


Source: AGBO


Favourite film of 2022:


Everything Everywhere All at Once


Brief summary of the plot:


SPOILER ALERT!!!!!! EVERYONE WHO HASN'T WATCHED IT PLEASE DON'T READ IT :( There are bad relationships in the family, the main character is a lesbian who slowly detaches from reality and her own mental state, which is portrayed throughout the whole film as her getting closer to being sucked into a black bagel. However, her family is still connecting with her and desperately attempts to make her feel better. This is abstractly shown as her family jumps through time and space to different realities, having superpowers and fighting the antagonist who is another version of the main character.


Why is this your chosen film?


This was my favourite as I didn't like any of the others.


When did you watch this film for the first time? Were you at home or the cinema?


I watched this at the cinema.


What is your favourite scene/moment from the film? Why?


I liked the sausage fingers bit because it was funny.


Do you have a favourite song from the film or a favourite piece from the soundtrack?


El corridor de la gallina.


Why is this your favourite?


I love to sing and dance to it in my room every day!


Which character do you feel the most connected to within the film and why?


The dad.


Do you feel this film has changed the way you think about the world in any way?


It did as soon as I watched it! I remember I came out and I was properly in my feelings, thinking about space and time like e=mc2 and it was really beautiful.


Is there anything else you would like me to add?


Will you be my girlfriend :)



-


Alex


Source: Searchlight Pictures


Favourite film of 2022:


The Banshees of Inisherin


Brief summary of the plot:


On a small island off the coast of Ireland, two friends go to the pub every everything. One day one of them decides he no longer wishes to be the others friend and goes to extreme lengths to make that point.


Why is this your chosen film?


I really appreciate the themes that the film explores, it is really well-written, and the performances are also very strong.


When did you watch this film for the first time? Were you at home or the cinema?


The cinema.


What is your favourite scene/ moment from the film? Why?


The scene where Pádraic yells at Colm whilst drunk, because it's where the themes of the story are most clear and it's also quite funny.


Favourite song from the film or a favourite piece of the soundtrack?


N/A


Why is this your favourite?


N/A


Which character do you feel the most connected to within the film and why?


Pádraic because we experience everything from his perspective and sympathised with him as he didn't truly understand what was going on, and only really suffered because of it.


How has this film changed the way you think about the world in any way?


We are often too obsessed with legacy and making an impression of ourselves and often neglect people for it.



-







29 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Barbie

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page