top of page
Search

52 Week Film Challenge: A Musical


Source: MGM Studios


Movie Title: Summer Stock

Year Released: 1950

Aspect Ratio: 1.37: 1

Run Time: 108 mins


My Rating: 5/5 Stars

Genre: Musical, Romance

Starring: Gene Kelly, Judy Garland, Eddie Bracken, Gloria DeHaven, Marjorie Main, Phil Silvers


Directed by: Charles Walters

Produced by: Joe Pasternak

Written by: George Wells, Sy Gomberg

Music by: Saul Chaplin, Johnny Green


Awards Received:

Writers Guild of America Nomination for Best Written American Musical, Laurel Awards Nomination for Top Female Comedy Performance, Top Female Musical Performance, Top Male Musical Performance


Source: MGM Studios


Why did I choose this particular film?

My Nana and I switched the Television on and saw the start of this film pop up on the TCM channel. Having discussed our love for Gene Kelly and stumbling upon this film the day after I had visited 'The Hollywood Museum' where I saw Garland's old costumes, we felt it would be fitting to watch. We recorded it for later and came back to the film when we had time to sit down and watch it in its entirety and loved it.


Would I recommend this film?

I would absolutely recommend this film. The comedy has aged so well and represents some themes which at the time of filming, were not presented often. A headstrong female lead within the film who stands her ground is so refreshing to see and although the story does take a predictable route, she voices her frustrations at those around her whilst at the same time choosing the path that's best for her. All characters within the film go on a journey of self discovery whether it's a minor one or a complete change of heart, further adding another dimension to this glorious celebration of love and life.


Kelly and Garland have such palpable chemistry within this film and it's undeniable that their scenes together bring magic to this film. The dance sequences and songs are joyous and/or filled with deep emotion and the set design is gorgeous. People discuss how classic old Hollywood films are so magical and it's due to the essence of the cast and crew that bring these joyful depictions of life to the screen. They remind you of the beautiful things in life and that through difficult periods, there's charm in finding a moment to sing and reflect on the journey.


Source: MGM Studios


Which character was I most able to identify with or connect with?

Jane is such a wonderful character and I loved her development within the film. In saying that, she is much more headstrong than I am and I do feel that I relate more to her romantic side and that of Joe too. They are both hopeless romantics who yearn to be appreciate and cared for by those they love. Whilst her character makes some questionable decisions towards the end, Abigail has to be the character that I see most of myself in. She's dreamy and optimistic that she will be a famous actress and can be quite rash in jumping to her ambitions. This is something I can be guilty of as I get passionately excited about the plans I am setting out to make and often lead with my heart over my head.


Most memorable quote:


"Joe D. Ross: We're trying to tell a story with music, and song, and dance. Well, not just with words. For instance, if the boy tells the girl that he loves her, he doesn't just say it, he sings it.

Jane Falbury: Why doesn't he just say it?

Joe D. Ross: Why? Oh, I don't know, but it's kind of nice."


Source: MGM Studios


Was I surprised by the ending? What would I do differently?

I was not surprised by the ending, although there are parts of the film that I was left pleasantly surprised by, it followed a predictable route. The film had to have a happy ending and that it did, but it was left as a happy ending for all, completely uplifting and celebrating the lessons learnt by all. Each character gained new strength and you could see the love presented on the screen.


The only criticism I would give of the film is that love seems to be the goal for all three leading characters. It makes sense as they start the film being in active relationships, but what would have made it more distinctive is if Garland's character decided to not jump into a new relationship, or her sister too - rather, for them to take the time to rediscover themselves after the things they have learnt. But alas, it is classic Hollywood and it would not be a romance-musical unless a suitable conclusion was reached at the end which would appeal to audiences of the time.


Source: MGM Studios


Did I feel the musical aspect of this film enhanced it or carried it? In what ways?

I did not feel like it carried the film because the peformances were so brilliant. It functioned to elevate the film, to present the joy and in some points the conflict felt by the characters. If the dancing and singing was not included, it would have been devastating as Kelly and Garland are so gifted in not only their acting, but their singing and dancing capabilities. Yet, there is such magnetism to both of them as actors that it was hard not to remain engaged at the more slow points of the film.


Anything else to add?

Phil Silvers performance as Herb Blake was fantastic. Herb is such a wonderfully comedic character and Silvers had his little mannerisms down to a 'T.' Paired with Kelly, the duo brought such childlike joy to the screen.



I do need to add that after writing this blog and through completing further research, I discovered that it was during the period of this film that Judy Garland was going through some difficult times and with this being the last film she ever did with MGM, was a crucial turning point in her career. It adds a sense of sadness to the film I once watched with a happy-go-lucky attitude, yet I am glad I was able to witness it under that facade, so I can now respect the incredible effort it must have taken for Garland to continue shooting this film through it all, and through my research also discover Gene Kelly's support to Garland during this period (as if you couldn't love Gene Kelly even more).


Harari describes:


Apparently he (Kelly) thought nothing of it, insisting that there was a part of him that not only “understood what she was going through,” but also felt a keen sense of gratitude for “all the help she had given (me).”


It is clear the studio system placed severe pressure on actresses such as Garland, and Marilyn Monroe. The environments were so toxic and sexist and that cannot be ignored.


Greg Smith offers a deeper look into what Garland was experiencing during the film; I did not want to divulge too much into all the things Garland endured during production, but for those who are interested, Smith breaks it down in relation to her performance. She was such an incredible performer.




Videos









24 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Barbie

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page