top of page
Search

52 Week Challenge: A Stop Motion Film


Source: Rita Productions


Movie Title: Ma Vie de Courgette/ "My Life as a Courgette"

Year Released: 2016

Aspect Ratio 1.85:1

Run Time: 66 mins


My Rating: 5/5 Stars


Genre: Drama/ Comedy

Starring: Gaspard Schlatter, Sixtine Murat, Michel Vuillermoz, Paulin Jacccoud


Directed by: Claude Barras

Produced by: Marc Bonny, Armelle Glorennec, Pauline Gygax (Original French Version)

Written by: Céline Sciamma

Music by: Sophie Hunger


Awards Received: César Award for Best Animated Film and for Best Writing, Satellite Award for Best Animated or Mixed Media Feature, European Film Award for Best Animated Film


Why did I choose this particular film?

I had seen this film advertised for quite a while and was always keen to watch it.


Would I recommend this film? Why or why not?

I really would recommend it, it doesn't take long to watch and is such a beautiful, tender, bitter-sweet watch. The animation is pure perfection. For those who don't like reading subtitles, I still recommend watching as there is an English version available too.


Source: Rita Productions


Which character was I most able to identify with or connect with?

Naturally, we are drawn to sympathise with Courgette, and from the immediate start of the film it is definitely made apparent he is the focus of the story and of our attention. That being said, all the children's stories connected with me as I watched, in particular Simon's story. There is a significant development of his character from the moment we meet him to the end of the film when his tough exterior seems to have softened quite a bit. At the end of the day, he is a child going through deep troubles like the other kids and this film highlights the complexities of all their lives, including that of Raymond too and the dynamic of the adults that are living their lives as they look after these kids.


Best line or memorable quote:

"He holds her tight because he's afraid she'll go."


Source: Rita Productions


Was I surprised by the ending?

I did predict parts of the ending and without revealing too much, I found the ending so wholesome and comforting. It really was beautiful whilst at the same time, still portraying the complexities of everybody's individual situations.


Source: Rita Productions


Why do I think stop motion was chosen for this film rather than animation?

I think stop motion was chosen as it adds an element of extra care to the story in some meta way. Obviously, as an audience, we are not always consciously aware that they are stop motion characters, but the sensitive nature of the tale requires a specific approach and the delicate work of the animation really elevated this. The pastel colours of the characters and the set built around them additionally provided a contrast to the dark undertones of the experiences endured by the children, whilst the bright and happy colours assert the childhood they deserve to have.


Anything else to add?

All I really need to mention is once again how beautiful the film is. It's a must-watch.

Something I stumbled across during my additional research of the film brought me to the link found below. For those interested in reading, it is a primary school class supplement to work through with children who have just watched the film. I thought it was a brilliant way at introducing children to the themes reflected in the film in a gentle way that encourages special thought and discussion and is just one example of how the film is being used to create awareness around the experiences the children in the film go through.




My favourite stop-motion films:

The Nightmare Before Christmas

Chicken Run

Corpse Bride

Fantastic Mr. Fox

Frankenweenie

Isle of Dogs

Kubo and the Two Strings

Wallace and Gromit: The Wrong Trousers (Short Film)


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Barbie

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page