top of page
Search

52 Week Challenge: About a Famous Person


Source: Canal+


Movie Title: La Vie En Rose

Year Released: 2007

Aspect Ratio: 16:9

Run Time: 134 mins


My Rating: 4/5 Stars


Genre: Drama, Music

Starring: Marion Cotillard, Sylvie Testud, Pascal Greggory


Directed by: Olivier Dahan

Produced by: Timothy Burrill, Alain Goldman, Marc Jenny, Oldrich Mach (list continues)

Written by: Isabelle Sobelman, Olivier Dahan

Music by: Christopher Gunning


Awards Received: Academy Award for Best Actress in a Leading Role, César Award for Best Actress, Bafta for Best Actress in a Leading Role, Golden Gloe for Best Actress (list continues)


Why did I choose this particular film?

I had this film on DVD and I have always admired Marion Cotillard's work.


Would I recommend this film? Why or why not?

I would recommend this film however, I am aware it is not a film I feel everyone would enjoy particularly as it is subtitled and the music may not be to everyone's taste. It is a film I did find jumped about quite a bit making it hard to follow, and it rarely touched on her marriages. For that, I rated it 4 out of 5. I definitely need to rewatch it again for more clarity on some aspects of the film but overall enjoyed it greatly.


Source: Canal+


Which character was I most able to identify with or connect with?

I connected with Edith as this was her tale and story, yet I surprisingly found myself connected to Titine acting as the primary maternal figure in Edith's life. When Edith is taken back by her dad, it is a heart-wrenching moment and I found that scene so sad to watch.


Best line or memorable quote:

"Interviewer: 'If you were to give advice to a woman, what would it be?'

Edith: 'Love.'

Interviewer: 'To a young girl?'

Edith: 'Love.'

Interviewer: 'To a child?'

Edith: 'Love."


Was I surprised by the ending?

I was surprised by aspects of her life but I was aware it would end in her death as I assumed the biopic would cover her life entirely. Having no knowledge really of Edith Piaf's life until watching this film, I wasn't sure of how she departed this world.


Source: Canal+


What is something new I learned about this person?

Ultimately, the film taught me how complex her life really was. I had no idea she was born out of poverty with a tumultuous childhood, nor had I any idea how she lived life through her career and the relationships she made throughout her time. It was eye-opening as the only real exposure I had to her previously were her famous songs and the mention of her in one of my favourite 'Sparks' songs (linked below).


Source: Canal+


Did this film change my view of this person? If so, how?

I became more appreciative of how incredible she was as a person and how unfair society and life was to her, Throughout all her struggles, health, and family issues, she continued to fight and prove everyone wrong. To me, that is deeply admirable. Cotillard's performance was stunning in this film.



Sparks Song:



My Favourite Biopics:

Rocketman

Love & Mercy

Bohemian Rhapsody

I, Tonya

The Eyes of Tammy Faye

King Richard

The Doors

Amy

Control

The Dirt

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Barbie

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page