top of page
Search

52 Week Challenge: An Independent Film


Source: Sveriges Television

Movie Title: Pleasure

Year Released: 2021

Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1

Run Time: 109 mins


My Rating: 3.5/5 Stars


Genre: Drama

Rated: 18

Starring: Sofia Kappel, Zelda Morrison, Evelyn Claire


Directed by: Ninja Thyberg

Produced by: Pape Boye, Violaine Pichon

Written by: Ninja Thyberg, Peter Modestij

Music by: Karl Frid


Awards Received: Guldbagge Award for Best Actress in a Leading Role, Guldbagge Award for Best Make-up, Guldbagge Award for Best Costume Design


Why did I choose this particular film?

This popped up on MUBI and I thought it would be an interesting film to watch as part of my blog.


Would I recommend this film? Why or why not?

I would recommend this film although I do feel it is not for everyone. It can be slow at points however offers an incredibly raw look into the adult film industry. Additionally, it explores the dynamics of those working within the industry and ultimately how this impacts the friendships and relationships those working in this industry deal with too. I never considered the deep complexities of this work until I saw them depicted in this film.


Source: Sveriges Television

Which character was I most able to identify with or connect with? In what way?

Bella's character was the one we are inclined to connect with as we follow her on the ambitious path to become the next big adult film actress. As someone with my own ambitions to excel in my own personal career path, I was able to relate to her determination and motivation to get to where she envisions herself being. It is admirable, yet the journey she takes proves to have some incredibly distressing obstacles that she must overcome and really highlights how ruthless this industry truly is to all involved.


Was I surprised by the ending? What would I do differently?

I was surprised to see where the film chose to end. Without revealing too much, I felt there were conversations that were meant to be had that instead just didn't happen.


Do I usually prefer to watch indie films over Hollywood big studio productions?

Whilst I do love big Hollywood studio films, I enjoy how raw indie films can be in comparison to Hollywood films. They're often of a slower tempo or take the time to really heighten the emotion within their films which is something I really appreciate, as well as seeking out newfound talent who have not yet starred in many other projects. In a way, this adds an extra level of appreciation to the creation of the film as it truly feels like a passion project inferring a close collaboration between the crew and cast onset - something I feel may be difficult at times to complete on a grand-scale big-budget Hollywood film.


Source: Sveriges Television

Anything else I would like to add?

It was interesting to view the treatment of women in the adult film industry. Aside from the most often horrific objectification of these women, it was so insightful to perceive how their work bleeds into the dynamics of the friendships and relationships within the industry. The women are pitted against each other in their line of work as they climb to the top, yet at the same time lean on each other for support. The adult film industry is an industry with incredible stigma and the only people to relate to are those completing the same work, however, the competitiveness of the industry poses a serious problem to those involved as these two dynamics begin to clash. Through the portrayal of this, it does raise questions surrounding the similarities in the treatment of men within this industry and the dynamics of their friendships and relationships as well.


If you are interested, feel free to check out this Guardian article on the film and read what director Ninja Thyberg and lead star Sofia Kappel have to say on the adult film industry. They raise some incredibly crucial points:



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Barbie

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page