top of page
Search

52 Week Challenge: Low Budget, Big Box Office


Source: A24

Movie Title: Moonlight

Year Released: 2016

Aspect Ratio: 2.39:1

Run Time: 111 mins


My Rating: 4/5 Stars


Genre: Drama

Rated: 15

Starring: Mahershala Ali, Naomie Harris, Trevante Rhodes, Alex R. Hibbert, Andre Holland, Janelle Monae


Directed by: Barry Jenkins

Produced by; Sarah Esberg, Tarell Alvin McCraney, Brad Pitt

Written by: Barry Jenkins, Tarell Alvin McCraney (story by)

Music by: Maggie Phillips, Nicholas Britell, John Finklea


Awards Received: Academy Award for Best Picture, Academy Award for Best Actor in a Supporting Role, Academy Award for Best Writing (Adapted Screenplay), Golden Globe for Best Motion Picture - Drama, MTV Movie and TV Award for Best Kiss (list continues)


Why did I choose this particular film?

I have been so desperate to see this film for so long so I'm glad I managed to sit down and watch it.


Source: A24

Would I recommend this film? Why or why not?

I would really recommend this film. The story is so painful yet beautiful and the shots in this film are so stunning. James Laxton's work as the cinematographer on this project is breathtaking and the onscreen dynamic between Ali and Hibbert was lovely. Whilst it is clear Chiron (Hibbert) needed to lean on Juan (Ali), in many ways, the film showed how much Juan needed Chiron too and that they both played a role in saving each other.


Which character was I most able to identify with or connect with? In what way?

I connected the most with Chiron, in particular at his early stage of life as 'Little' when it becomes apparent his childhood is filled with struggle from kids his own age and then at home too. Through this, it seems there is no escape from the pain he must endure, and for any child to go through that is unjust and difficult to watch. At the same time, I sympathised and connected with Paula too as it is clear she has her issues yet tries but I also really sympathised with Juan. He steps in as a good influence and role model to 'Little' and offers him a place of respite when things are tricky at home. Watching the tumultuous relationship with Paula and subsequently, the discovery that Juan sells drugs to Paula was a heartbreaking revelation for 'Little' to be exposed to.


Source: A24

Best line or memorable quote:

'You ain't got to love me, but you gonna know that I love you.' This quote hit me so hard. It's incredibly bittersweet and raw and sent me into a flood of tears. Naomie Harris' performance in this scene was magnificent.


Was I surprised by the ending? What would I do differently?

I wasn't surprised that Chiron and Kevin reconnected at the end. The film comes full circle. As Barry Jenkins describes, the film isn't overtly sexual, but a film portraying exploration. Their relationship at the start is a crucial memory for Chiron, as painful as it was, it was an important part of his life and in discovering his sense of self. It seems almost destined that he would ultimately reconnect with Kevin in the end. The film presents their relationship so delicately through the development of their initial feelings together and their first sexual encounter, to the pressures of hiding that from the rest of the world and the incidents arising from that, and finally their reunion at the end. They're on different paths in life with Kevin having a family and Chiron selling drugs without having been with anyone else since being with Kevin. However, their shared moment of peace in Chiron's apartment suggests they still love each other and the bond between them will always be present. The shot of Chiron standing alone at the beach as a 'Little' concludes the film and as Jenkins has mentioned, brings the film full circle once more and is interesting to see after watching him grow up over the course of the film.


Source: A24

Do I feel a larger budget would make the film better or worse?

I do not feel a larger budget would have made this film any better. The budget it had really aided in the authenticity of the story and Jenkin's ability to use locations near where he grew up all played a factor in making this raw, gorgeous film. A higher budget could risk the film becoming too much of a 'Hollywood Blockbuster production' which may lack the heart a film like this really deserves.


Source: A24

How would I spend the extra fund?

I honestly don't feel this film would benefit from any extra funds on the production side but I would potentially place the funds on the distribution and publicity side of things. The music, shots and locations were beautiful and I think under the budget they were dealt with obviously worked best.


Source: A24

Anything else I would like to add?

The only thing I would mention about the film is it tended to slow at points which is why it is 4 and not 5 out of stars. I understand why this was needed and crucial to the story yet for me I felt the pace could have been picked up slightly at points.


Here are some really interesting reads relating to the film for anyone interested:








8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Barbie

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page