top of page
Search

52 Week Challenge: Set in a College


Canal+

Movie Title: Happening

Year Released: 2021

Aspect Ratio: 1.37:1

Run Time: 100 mins

Genre: Drama

Rated: 15

My Rating: 5/5


Starring: Anamaria Vartolomei, Kacey Mottet Klein, Luàna Bajrami, Louise Orry-Diquéro

Directed by: Audrey Diwan

Produced by: Alice Girard, Edouard Weil

Written by: Marcia Romano, Audrey Diwan, Annie Ernaux (Novel)

Music by: Evgueni Galperine, Sacha Galperine

Awards Received: Golden Lion, César for Most Promising Actress, TIFF: The Young Francophone Jury Prize (list continues)


Why did I choose this particular film?

I wanted to watch something completely new to me on MUBI and this was recommended. After looking into the plot description I was so much more inclined to watch it.


Would I recommend this film? Why or why not?

Considering the current atrocious state of the world yes. I believe everyone has to see this film, it's a masterpiece. No matter if you are a woman and have the risk of enduring an accidental pregnancy, or a man who never has to live with this fear, the ability for a woman to get pregnant impacts us all. I am pro-choice and this film only exemplifies my views further. It is a must-watch.


Which character was I most able to identify with or connect with?

I identify with Anne as she deals with the deep trauma and conflict of falling pregnant during this time and wanting to continue her studies at university. Perceiving her struggle and concealment of this trauma has to be one of the most gut-wrenching things I have ever witnessed on film.


Best line or memorable quote:

“Were you ill?’

‘The kind of illness that strikes only women and turns them into housewives."


Anne's description of her accidental pregnancy is something that is stated so poetically and beautifully cryptic yet at the same time obviously highlights to her university professor what exactly she has dealt with. They share a moment of understanding and respect that it must still be kept secret and is almost a moment of a breath of fresh air for her because someone else now knows what she has spent so much time enduring.


Canal+

If I attended college, did this film resemble my college life? If so, how?

To some degree, the dorm aspect definitely did as I spent the first year at my university in halls. However, the film is set in 60s France and as a result, lots of the aspects are different including the privileged position I have as a woman living in the UK in 2022 being able to readily receive a safe abortion if it is ever needed. This freedom I have is becoming ever more threatened each day and it is frightening the similarities many colleges in America may find with this film over the next few years after the recent overturning of Roe v. Wade.

Would I attend this college? Why or why not?

If I was in Anne’s position, then yes. She wants a degree to make a life for herself, and as rough and difficult as it is in the current state of the world, she’s determined (as one of the first of her family especially), to attend university and create a life for herself. I do not think I would be as strong as her in continuing her studies whilst dealing with this accidental pregnancy and she is incredibly brave.


Canal+

Anything else I would like to add?

The state of the world now is scary and the scene at the end of this film was one of the most remarkable and breathtaking scenes I’ve ever seen in a film. If you choose not to watch this film I urge you to at least watch this sequence as it is unbelievable and so painfully raw to witness.*


*I did try to find a clip of it but at present, I'm unsuccessful in locating one. If I do manage to find one, I will edit this post and attach it.




For anyone interested in further reading regarding Abortion and any useful resources, please find these below. Additionally, if there are any websites you would recommend and feel others may find useful, please let me know.


Articles on Abortion:







UK Abortion Resources:



US Abortion Resources:



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Barbie

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page