top of page
Search

A subjective ranking of Wes Anderson's films



I have always wanted to do a ranking on my blog and after the recent release of Wes Anderson's 'The French Dispatch' and a little trip to the exhibition in London, I thought now would be the perfect time to finally sit down and add my thoughts to my blog.


Whilst the film was released a number of weeks ago now, I have been so busy with University and hence had absolutely no time to squeeze a blog in and around everything. Apologies for that. The recent exhibition for 'The French Dispatch' just spent a number of weeks running during October and November in London and was so wonderfully crated with so many props and costumes from the film. It was practically bursting at the seam with all things Wes Anderson. Complete with your very own copy of the magazine itself detailing inside facts about the film and replication of the coffee shop at the end, it really was a lovely way to spend an afternoon.


For those who didn't get a chance to check it out feel free to look on my Instagram and Facebook linked around my blog to see some pictures of it all.


On to the ranking then. I know I have a tendency to rant so apologies for the long introduction. For those new to the blog, welcome, I hope you enjoy reading some of my posts and getting involved in any discussions surrounding the films I write about, and for those returning, I hope you are well, and once again apologies for the delay in writing. It is nice to be back though. I really have missed it.


10. Isle of Dogs


First of all, I know I should apologise for ranking this one so low but via the process of elimination, this is where it sits. It should be noted that I love all these films and think they're all so fantastic; it's no denying Anderson is a genius and the fact that he has both written and directed all these incredible films still blows my mind*. The reason this sits so low is purely, that I feel his other films are much stronger. 'Isle of Dogs' is so beautiful and I really love the animation which I am aware took so long to produce, yet for me, I feel the story itself was not my personal favourite. The film is set in Japan with the mayor deciding to exile all dogs to an island in order to rid the population of a flu spread by the dogs. A young boy named Atari (played by Koyu Rankin) decides it is his duty to go and save these dogs and his relationship with the animals continues to develop from there. I love the relationship that Atari builds with the dogs as well as the internal monologue of the dogs we as an audience get to hear and see, it just wasn't a strong enough contender for me to rank it higher. The cast, as always is fantastic with Bill Murray, Tilda Swinton, Edward Norton, Jeff Goldblum, and Scarlett Johansson voicing just some of the dogs. Although I am a fan of Alexandre Desplat as a composer and his other work with Anderson which I will go on to mention, the soundtrack of this film was not one of my favourites.


* Whilst writing on all of his films, he collaborates frequently with others during his writing.

9. Moonrise Kingdom


I feel I will find myself saying 'this film is so beautiful' for all of Anderson's films but that's the precedent he has set for himself through all of his work and it can't go unmentioned. That being said I will refrain from repeating myself. For those who haven't watched, 'Moonrise Kingdom' follows the tale of two 12-year olds that fall in love and decide to run away together. This prompts an abrupt search by everyone in the town as they begin to wonder where the children have gone all whilst we view how the two plan their next steps and their future together. I do love this film, it's so sweet and special, yet I felt like I wanted to see more about the journey these two kids went on. Although in saying that, it is hard to include any more and keep the film concise and I do recognise that. The characters in this film are great, including that of Andersons' usual cast of exceptional team players such as Bill Murray, Owen Wilson, Luke Wilson, and many others. Once again, music holds a devoted place in my heart in terms of films and building a story, and for me, whilst music was crucial in developing the relationship between the two, a lot of the soundtrack is made up of records the little boy has stolen from his home, in which orchestras are broken down for kids. Whilst great, I would have loved to hear a more varied array of songs like Anderson includes in some of his other work, yet I do understand how that may have not fit best with this tale. Anderson does mix things up a bit with the inclusion of songs such as Françoise Hardy's "Le Temps de L'amour," but as mentioned, it would be nice to have a wider variety within the film.

8. Rushmore


A classic of Andersons and arguably Jason Schwartzmann's most iconic role, I do consider this a comfort film however, once again by the process of elimination, it sits at number 8. Written by Anderson and Owen Wilson, Schwartzmann portrays a young schoolboy named Max who finds himself excelling in all aspects of life except his academics. Faced with the challenge of crushing on his teacher Mrs. Cross (Olivia Williams), complications unravel when he discovers his mentor (Bill Murray) finds himself in the same position crushing over her too. The relationship between Murray and Schwartzmann is so wonderful to perceive on-screen and the nostalgic element of this film is something that definitely consistently draws me back in. The soundtrack is so great too and hence why the film ranks higher than the others previously discussed. I haven't watched this film in so long and so will definitely be watching it soon because I forgot how much I love it.


7. Fantastic Mr. Fox


I love this film. Ever since growing up with the book as a child, I have loved the characters and the story behind it. The beauty of this story is only illuminated through Andersons craft and paired with the incredible cast of once again his usual contenders, and a few new additions including that of George Clooney as Mr. Fox and Meryl Streep as Mrs. Fox, along with the stop motion animation akin to that in 'Isle of Dogs,' does assert it as a completely unique film in its own right. The soundtrack for this film aways remains prominent in my mind since I first watched it with the genius little chant regarding Boggis, Bunce, and Bean as well as Jarvis Cocker playing a singer named Petey in the film to combine the diegetic and non-diegetic music as the animals raid the stocks of the three men. It's a perfect combination of songs scored solely for the film by Alexandre Desplat, as well as a sprinkling of some familiar songs thrown into the mix too, evidently best encapsulated by the dancing scene at the end to "Let her dance" by The Bobby Fuller Four as well as the sequence of Mr. and Mrs. Fox's last escapade together stealing livestock to "Heroes and Villians" by The Beach Boys. Overall it's a joy to watch and is THE perfect Sunday afternoon family film.


6. The Grand Budapest Hotel



Having watched this film recently, I remembered why I fell in love with it the first time I watched it. A story representing the greed and competition of the rich, it portrays scandal and deceit in such a flawless way. The comedy in this film is effortlessly woven through all the chaos that ensues as a result of the manager of the Grand Budapest Hotel Monsieur Gustave's (played by Ralph Feinnes) scandalous antics as he becomes entangled in all sorts of mayhem after being left a rare painting in the will of a recently deceased woman he regularly had an affair with, in addition to standing as the chief suspect for her murder. Outraged, the family's fury erupts into all sorts of madness. All whilst incorporating the steps a poor bell boy named Zero (portrayed by Tony Revolori), must take in order to uphold the values established by his mentor Monsieur Gustave, as the legacy of the hotel continues through the years. The story is told through an exchange of words between a journalist in the present day (Jude Law) and a now much older Zero (played by F. Murray Abraham); who is wiser to the experiences he endured at such a young stage of his life. Paired with Anderson's classic symmetrical shots and delicate colour schemes makes this film one of Anderon's most beloved by critics and audiences. The soundtrack cannot go unmentioned too and has to be one of my favourites composed by Alexandre Desplat.


5. The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou


I don't think I can even articulate the absolute love I have for this film. Based on and somewhat parodying the life of real explorer Jacques Cousteau, the film portrays an expedition embarked upon by the fictional explorer Steve Zissou (played wonderfully by the ever-incredible Bill Murray) as he seeks revenge over a jaguar shark that killed his last partner. On this journey, Zissou picks up many 'castaways', including that of a son he was not aware he had years prior, a pregnant journalist detailing the experience on deck, as well as Zissou's estranged wife and many more colourful characters to fill the expedition with fervor. All centered around the premiere of the film taken on this expedition, the film really is glorious and the character of safety clerk played by singer Seau Jorge combines the development of the story with acoustic David Bowie songs sung in Portugese. Something that might not seem would work with the film, yet is so captivating and gentle to watch and hear. Ultimately this cranks up until the ending of the film when "Queen Bitch" by David Bowie is played over the closing credits. It's one of the best closing scenes and is so effortlessly cool. I can't recommend this film enough and every performance in it is so wonderful.


4. Bottle Rocket


I am shocked by the lack of exposure this film gets. It's Anderson's first film and was originally made on a lower budget with Anderson and the 2 Wilson brothers (Owen and Luke) as students when they decided to collaborate on a personal film written by Owen Wilson and Wes Anderson, with Anderson taking on the task of directing. Once their original short film of 'Bottle Rocket' was submitted to indie film festivals, the film gained exposure and the trio was supplied with a wealthier budget to produce the version we now see today. The premise of the film is simple, with three men, (played by the Wilson brothers and Robert Musgrave), deciding to embark on a robbery before realising their plan is falling apart at the seams. I've tried to determine what makes this film rank so high for me, but I feel it must be the fact it's the first time we are seeing Anderson direct, the first time we are seeing the infamous symmetrical shots and stylised images being presented to audiences for the first time. Combining that with the chemistry the three obviously all have and the comedic element of the ridiculousness of the trio's relationship elevates my ranking of this film making it one of my favourites of Andersons. The characters are wacky, much like his other work, but Anderson presents a side to them one may not see firsthand and combines the story with an engaging soundtrack which as always is the key to my heart for any good film. If you haven't watched it, I really recommend you do because I definitely consider it a cult classic.

3. The French Dispatch


This film was so enjoyable and I really loved watching the various tales unravel. The film centers on an American newspaper named 'The French Dispatch' that resides in the fictional French town of Ennui-Sur-Blasé. The newspaper itself is evidently influenced by The New Yorker and the style of the film, as usual for Anderson, was pure perfection. The colours, costumes, art, and even food within this film are so much more vibrant than Anderson's other work and I loved it. The focus of the stories in this edition of the magazine follows numerous avenues from politics to art and many others. Backed by his usual cast of returning contenders, such as Bill Murray, Tilda Swinton, Owen Wilson, Frances McDormand, and Adrien Brody, it is filled to the brim with fantastic performances, in addition to some new faces to the world of Wes Anderson such as Lyna Khoudri (playing the feisty, rebellious Juliette) and Timothée Chalamet (playing the rival counterpart to Juliette as the pair fight about the rights of students in their area). As mentioned before, the exhibition in London was the best way to complement watching the film, and seeing all the props and costumes in person was almost magical.


2. The Royal Tenenbaums


Now, this is the one I tell people is my favourite. I guess because it's more critically acclaimed and it makes me sound fancy or whatever but it is in the top 2 so I do consider it one of his best films. Written by Wes Anderson and Owen Wilson, the film details the experience of a family all returning home for some much-needed re-charge in their lives, the oddball members of the family come together to learn something about themselves and the unit they call home. The costumes alone are enough to place this film at 2 and ever since watching I've been envious of Margot Tenenbaum's (played by the wonderful Gwenyth Paltrow) fur coat. The tracksuits worn by Chas Tenenbaum (portrayed by Ben Stiller) and his children are hilarious too, illuminating that one in the family that always attempts to organise his life better than that of the family he comes from, now more than ever as he continues to mourn the loss of his wife who died in a plane crash. It gives me similar vibes to that of the brother in Step Brothers oddly, who projects his own ambitions onto his children and wife who are clearly not as passionate as himself - but I digress. The soundtrack has to be one of my favourites out of all of Anderson's films. The moment between Richie (Luke Wilson), and Margot at the end of the film as they listen to "She smiled sweetly" by The Rolling Stones is one of my favourite scenes in cinema. I won't describe it much further for those that haven't seen it and don't want it spoiled but it's a lovely bittersweet moment. I have attached it below in the section of my favourite scenes from Anderson's films for those who have watched and want to be reminded of how lovely it is. I don't want to go into too much about the ins and outs of this film because I do think it's best going into this film without knowing really anything about the plot if you can avoid it. You learn about the intricacies of the stories of the eccentric characters as the film develops and the cast is so incredible with support from wonderful actors such as Gene Hackman and Danny Glover as well.


1. The Darjeeling Limited


I am obsessed with this film. I think it is criminally underrated and I consider it my ultimate comfort film. The dynamic between Owen Wilson, Adrien Brody, and Jason Schwartzmann (a few from Anderson's usual fantastic ensemble of amazing performers) is just magic in a story that follows the journey of three brothers traveling on The Darjeeling Limited train across India in an attempt to rekindle their bond after the recent loss of their father. It's fantastic. The colours and the shots as always are so gorgeous and rich with detail. The comedy in this film is so hilarious too, established through the pure chemistry between the three. I laugh and I cry watching this and the soundtrack lives rent-free in my mind constantly. Arguably the best song has to be 'This Time Tommorrow" by The Kinks as well as "Les Champs Elysee" by Joe Dassin that plays during the closing credits of the film. I have linked below my favourite scene of the film, which runs parallel to the scene at the start of the film with Brody running to catch the train. The metaphorical significance of this closing scene is so brilliantly crafted and really represents the journey the three go on over the course of the film as they realise what they truly value in life. For those interested, Anderson produced a short film to go alongside this story which can be found linked below and adds some context to Jason Schwartzmann's relationship with his girlfriend. Anderson doesn't leave out others from his returning ensemble, by placing Anjelica Huston as the brother's wildly impulsive mother who has now decided to settle in a convent in the Himalayan mountains, and he even manages to find a quick brief character for Bill Murray to play. Because what's a Wes Anderson film without Bill Murray?


I feel I have made it pretty apparent how much I love Anderson's films and I would apologise for the number of times I mentioned that, but I'm not going to because his films are just magic. They're unlike any other director's work and they truly are masterpieces. If you haven't watched any of these and after reading this blog feel you want to, I highly encourage you to do so. As always, feel free to leave and comments in the comment box below to start some film conversations, and feel free to sign up to the blog too so you are notified when I post new blogs. My next blog will not take this long to post I assure you. It's been a busy couple of weeks but I'm getting on top of things once again.


To make your life feel like a Wes Anderson film I really recommend this playlist.


*A highlight of this playlist is walking down the street to "Gut Feeling" by Devo and I feel that cannot go unmentioned or I really would be depriving you of a badass walking moment.


Not all of Anderson's films are available to stream for free but the ones that are on streaming platforms can be found below:


Isle of Dogs - Virgin TV Go

Moonrise Kingdom - Virgin TV Go

Rushmore - Disney Plus, Virgin TV Go

Fantastic Mr. Fox - Netflix UK, Prime Video UK, Sky Go, Now TV, Virgin TV Go

The Grand Budapest Hotel - Disney Plus

The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou - Disney Plus

Bottle Rocket - Virgin TV Go

The Royal Tenenbaums - Disney Plus, Virgin TV Go

The Darjeeling Limited - Disney Plus, Virgin TV Go


Wes Anderson Fun Facts:


  1. Bill Murray sent Anderson $25,000 to fund the helicopter rental for Rushmore.

  2. Anderson includes a reference to Charlie Brown in every film.

  3. Anderson and Wilson named some Tenenbaums after a friend of theirs from college.

  4. Rushmore was filmed at Wes Anderson's prep school, St John's in Houston.

  5. Anderson uses a technique called 'Planimetric staging' when staging his shots.

  6. 'The Grand Budapest Hotel' was shot in three different aspect ratios.

*Facts sourced from NME article linked below. Check it out to discover more random Wes Anderson facts.


My favourite scenes


The Royal Tenenbaums



The Darjeeling Limited

The French Dispatch

Bottle Rocket

Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou

Grand Budapest Hotel

Fantastic Mr Fox

Rushmore

Moonrise Kingdom

Isle of Dogs





38 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Barbie

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page