top of page
Search

This is my first ever blog so please don’t judge…

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been obsessed with Film and Television. And no, I don’t mean my obsessions stretches the lengths of binge-watching Netflix on the weekends to pass the time, but actually obsessed. After watching a Film I’ve always been someone to look up the cast, the director, and find out everything I can possibly find out about it in order to satisfy my thirst for knowing all there is to know about the Films and TV shows I’ve come to know and love. 


It’s a strange feeling, and I get asked often ‘why are you so obsessed? Can’t you just watch something and that be that?’ Well…no, there’s something magical about the way Films and TV shows are able to transport you anywhere during any point in your life. They take you on journeys and make you question both the harsh realities of the world whilst at the same time push you to aspire for the better. And I guess there’s something in that which makes me want to discover the truth behind it all. Why did that director use this particular actress, why was the movie set here instead of somewhere else? How has this influenced the story?


I’m only 18, yet I feel that the movies I’ve watched, have definitely made me into the person I am today. As you read this, try and think about a movie that made you go - ‘I want to be just like them,’ It has happened right? Of course it has. You are lying to me if you say that whether it be during childhood or adulthood, you haven’t either drawn influence from a character you’ve seen, or desired to live your life the way they do, because you have. That’s what Film and Television do, they portray hundreds of characters navigating different routes through life, whilst embarking on their own individual adventures. One of those, is bound to have made you question your current situation and position in this big and vast universe. I wanted to start this as I’ve always been someone that likes to ignite an interesting conversation. Films and Television, as you’ve now read, deeply interest me and I wanted a space to share this and also get other people's opinions on the Films and Television programmes they love; so I encourage you to comment, or raise a question about something you didn’t quite understand, as I want this to be the place to share it! 


I guess this idea started in my head when I watched a Kubrik movie the other day and realised my family didn’t want to hear me ramble for hours about his use of music within a Clockwork Orange as they were getting on with their own daily tasks. I wanted somewhere to rant and here I am. I must also note, my school suggested we partake in more activities during this time to keep us stimulated and it made me think, what is the worst that can happen by starting this blog? If no one sees it, I won’t be offended, but if someone does, then we can begin to build a community! 


So, I welcome you with open arms to read me ranting about various movies I love and hate and the movies I’ve watched during this crazy time. Maybe you’ll learn something new or become sick of reading my rants about the use of colour by Wes Anderson. But whatever it is, I welcome you and encourage you to comment and share any thoughts you may have. I am not a film student but definitely have a desire to work in film when I’m older, so this blog is just a hobby! I promise to post blogs as often as I can but during this weird time, my uploads may be a bit irregular as I’m new to this. 


Please bear with me as I discover the ways of a blogger during this time! 


Thanks for reading and hope you stick around! 


Isabella x


36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Barbie

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page